How to Close and Delete Spotify Account? (2022)

Spotify is a music streaming service that offers users various songs and podcasts. You can create your playlist, listen to pre-made ones, or listen to stations based on your favorite songs or artists.
It’s simple and easy to use Spotify. But, if you’re done with the service, you may be wondering how to close & delete your Spotify account. In this blog post, we will walk you through the steps to take to cancel your Spotify subscription and delete your account.

How to Close and Delete Spotify Account

Before we get into details, it is essential to note that the method to delete or close Spotify free account and a Spotify premium account is slightly different. However, we’ve created a self-explanatory tutorial for both, so you have nothing to worry about.

You can easily delete your account without help if you are a Spotify free account user. But to delete Spotify premium accounts, you need to go through some checks and extra verification steps through the customer support bot. This is important to ensure the safety of your account.

Furthermore, Spotify does not allow you to delete your account directly from the app for a reason best known to them. The only way to permanently delete your account is by using the customer support page. A link to the official support page has been given in the guide below.

How to delete Spotify free account

The process of deleting a free Spotify account is straightforward. You don’t need any technical knowledge to execute this, and it doesn’t take much time. What you need is just a web browser and sprinkle some patience.

  1. Using any web browser, go to the Spotify website and log in with the details of the account you want to delete.
  2. Go to the Spotify account closure page. Linked Here.
  3. There, you will be asked if you need to close your account. Click on Close account.
Delete spotify free account
  1. Now you will be asked to confirm your account details. Check if the details are correct and click “Continue.” This will go on for the next three steps. Read the instructions and click on continue.
Delete spotify free account
Delete spotify free account
  1. Lastly, Spotify will send an email. Click the link in the email to permanently close your account. Your account is not closed until you do so.
Delete spotify free account
Spotify delete account confirmation email

The link will expire within 24 hours. Check your spam box if you can’t find the mail in your inbox. However, you have seven days to reactivate your account if you change your mind.

Step to delete Spotify Premium Account.

  1. Using any web browser, go to the Spotify website and log in with the details of the account you want to delete.
  2. To delete your Premium account permanently, visit https://support.spotify.com/us/premium-close-account/.
  3. Click on “Proceed to delete my account.”
Delete spotify premium account
  1. You will be sent a message in the support center chatbot. Reply with “Cancel Premium”
Delete spotify premium account
  1. The bot will reply with two options, “Cancel Premium plan or Close account.” Select “Close account.”
  2. Then, it will ask why you want to close your account. State any reasons.
  3. You will then see your account details and the number of playlists you have. Here you will have three options: “I can access this email,” “I want to close different account,” and “I can’t access this email.” Select whichever is most appropriate.
  4. The bot will now ask you to confirm if you want to delete your account, as you will lose your custom playlists and followers, and there is no option to reuse the same username. Click “I understand” to continue.
  5. Lastly, Spotify will send an email. Click the link in the email to permanently close your account. Your account is not closed until you do so.

That’s the last step. As you know, losing subscribers is not what any streaming service wants. So Spotify will send you another mail saying a final goodbye to their favorite subscriber. You can reactivate your account within seven days if you change your mind.

In addition, Spotify won’t allow you to use the same username any time you wish to return to the service. But you can create a new account with the same email address.

Wrapping up

Deleting your Spotify account is easy if you’re no longer using it. Follow the steps in this article, and your account will be gone in no time. But, of course, you can always reactivate it if you change your mind.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Math Captcha
+ 8 = 15